ePlanning DOI-BLM-CO-N030-2012-0001-RMP-EIS (Dominguez-Escalante National Conservation Area RMP)  
> Land Use Planning Register > DOI-BLM-CO-N030-2012-0001-RMP-EIS > How to get Involved
Find Whole Words Only
Documents & Reports
Contact Information
How to get Involved
Last Updated:
04/28/2017 11:44:56 MDT
How to get Involved 
What's New
Advisory Council Meetings

Click on "Meetings" on the menu to the left for more information. Advisory Council meetings are open to the public.
The Dominguez-Escalante NCA Advisory Council

The Omnibus Public Land Management Act of 2009 that established the D-E NCA called for the creation of an advisory council specifically to “advise the Secretary with respect to the preparation and implementation of the management plan.” This council’s founding charter was approved by Secretary Salazar on February 5, 2010.

Council members serve three-year terms, and the Council may remain in existence for up to a year following completion of the plan. Recommendations are based on consensus-building and collaboration.

The Dominguez-Escalante NCA Advisory Council has met publicly many times during development of the RMP and gives valuable feedback to the BLM. If you missed any of these meetings, you can read or download the meeting minutes as well as other relevant documents from the "Meetings" link on the menu to the left.

How to contact the Council

Email the Council at dencaadvisorycouncil@gmail.com.

The Ten Members of the Advisory Council
Katie Steele, Advisory Council Chair, resides in Grand Junction, is the co-chair of the Colorado Riverfront Commission, and has chaired the Robb River Rally event in the Grand Valley. She represents dispersed recreation and historical resources. William “Bill” Harris, Advisory Council Vice-Chair, resides in Montrose and is a pastrepresentative of the International Mountain Biking Association and a current board member of the Colorado Plateau Mountain Biking Trail Association. He is also a past president of the Colorado Archaeological Society. He was recommended for the Council by the MontroseCounty Commissioners. Bill also represents recreation, primarily mountain biking, and culturalresources.
Kaye Simonson  resides in Grand Junction and is a Mesa County planner. She represents Mesa County. Oscar Massey  lives in Whitewater and is a rancher with federal grazing permits within the NCA since the mid 1970s. He represents grazing permit holders.
Tamera Minnick resides in Grand Junction, where she is an associate professor ofEnvironmental Science and Technology at Colorado Mesa University. She represents scientific,educational, and ecological values. Ralph Files is a resident of Montrose and on the Montrose County Parks Advisory Board. He represents Montrose County.
Bob Janowski lives in Whitewater. He is a member of the Grand Mesa Jeep Club and the Western Slope ATV Association. He represents motorized recreation interests. Sherry Schenk is a member of the League of Women Voters, Colorado Native Plant Society, Newcomers Club, Great Old Broads for Wilderness, and numerous other conservation organizations. She represents environmental and wilderness values.
Craig Grother is a resident of Norwood. He worked as a wildlife biologist for the United States Forest Service from 1986 to 2009 and is presently a seasonal wildlife technician for Colorado Parks and Wildlife in the Montrose Area Office. Doug Atchley resides in Delta and is a Delta County Commissioner. He retired from bankingin 2007, managing a group of Wells Fargo banks that included branches in Delta, Gunnison,Telluride, and Montrose. He was a founding member of Delta Area Development, Inc., andhas served as chamber president. He operates a cattle ranch in Delta County. Doug represents Delta County.